You are not logged in.

#1 19 Jul 2008 0:53

-=Hero Doug=-
Lowter Addict
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 626
Message

How do you test in multiple browsers>

I was wondering how everyone here tests their layouts in more than one browser?

Right now I just have three instlled on my machine, but I'd like to get some other versions of the same browser installed as well.

I suppose I can use virtualization, but that may not be the best solution.

http://browsershots.org/ sort of works, but at a three minute wait it's kind of a slow way to weed out errors.


So, what do you do?

Last edited by -=Hero Doug=- (19 Jul 2008 0:54)

Offline

 

#2 19 Jul 2008 3:58

lotrgamemast
Lowter Staff
From: England
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 2484
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

Personally I have 4 browsers installed:

- Opera 9.51 (Main browser)
- IE7
- Firefox 2
- Firefox 3

I'd like to have Safari on here as well but Apple loads in so much crap into my start up it really isnt worth it. I dont want 3 extra services just to anny me with update reminders thank you.

Browsershots is ok but you cant interact with the shots at all to see if rollovers and stuff works well. Same with javascript errors.

Offline

 

#3 19 Jul 2008 5:43

Tom
Loco Lowter Member
From: UK
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 2503
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

I haven't done web design in years so can't really comment. I use to have an install of IE, FF and Opera though when I did


Meaning of life: we learn a bunch of stuff then we die.
http://www.thehardcorelife.com
http://blog.thehardcorelife.com

Offline

 

#4 19 Jul 2008 10:22

Ethan
Lowter Staff
From: Minneapolis, MN
Registered: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 6960
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

I do a lot of browser testing:

- Opera 7
- Opera 8
- Opera 9
- Firefox 2
- Firefox 3
- Internet Explorer 6
- Internet Explorer 7
- Safari 2

I'm considering dropping Opera 7 and 8 because they seem always to produce results identical to Opera 9 for the average every-day website.  As for Safari, I have a Mac so it's easy to pop it up and check a website, but I've never changed much because of Safari's issues.  Really, IE6 and IE7 produce the most pains for me.

I have Opera, FF, and Safari all installed as normal programmes on my computer.  However, I run IE6 through virtualisation and IE7 is on another computer at my house.


Ethan, Managing Director of Lowter
Blog | American Swedish Institute | Save the Internet

Offline

 

#5 19 Jul 2008 23:43

-=Hero Doug=-
Lowter Addict
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 626
Message

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

Yeah not exactly the answers I was hoping for. Just installing XP twice on a virtual machine is oging to take 10 gigs, which is a lot just to use two web browsers.

You know I've thought of just testing in the latest browsers and screwing all the rest. I could make a JS popup to tell them to upgrade.

It's hard for an old technology like IE6 to die when people keep supporting it. It's a big give and take issue.

Offline

 

#6 20 Jul 2008 11:42

Ethan
Lowter Staff
From: Minneapolis, MN
Registered: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 6960
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

You're going to have to test in IE6 and IE7 both, there is not any way around this.  I also wish you could have them installed simultaneously on one installation, like you can with FF and Opera, but oh well.  MS should find some way to have both in one installation, just for developers at least.


Ethan, Managing Director of Lowter
Blog | American Swedish Institute | Save the Internet

Offline

 

#7 20 Jul 2008 15:28

lotrgamemast
Lowter Staff
From: England
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 2484
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

The official way is to use there own virtual machine image which has IE6 on it and install IE7 on your Windows pc. Shit out of luck if your on a mac and want offical methods though.

Offline

 

#8 20 Jul 2008 20:20

Frenzie
Loco Lowter Member
From: Antwerp, Belgium
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 3874
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

I haven't really done a layout in a while and when I will do one I think that IE7 would be my lowest denominator or maybe even Firefox 2, unless for some reason that'd be different. tongue

Last edited by Frenzie (21 Jul 2008 8:24)


Intelligent alien life does exist, otherwise they would have contacted us.

Offline

 

#9 20 Jul 2008 21:36

-=Hero Doug=-
Lowter Addict
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 626
Message

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

That's the issue I'm struggling with, how low to go. I think 1e6 is the lowest I would personally go. I actually find it to be alright for CSS layouts. For Firefox I think 2.0 is the lowest, while Opera would be version 7 or 8.

I actually found a solution which should get multiple versions of IE running, it's listed here. I haven't had time to try it yet, but i"ll post about it when I do try it.

Offline

 

#10 21 Jul 2008 2:31

lotrgamemast
Lowter Staff
From: England
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 2484
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

If i remember rightly that worked but was quite unstable. It also stopped conditional comments working. If you have IE7 installed as the main version of IE all conditional comments were for that version, even in IE6 on the system. I think that's what happens, or it could have been a different thing sick Give it a try and report back smile

Offline

 

#11 21 Jul 2008 8:24

Frenzie
Loco Lowter Member
From: Antwerp, Belgium
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 3874
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

The conditional comments worked fine when I had IE5, IE5.5 and IE6 installed simultaneously, but that was many years ago.


Intelligent alien life does exist, otherwise they would have contacted us.

Offline

 

#12 21 Jul 2008 9:32

Ethan
Lowter Staff
From: Minneapolis, MN
Registered: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 6960
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

Hmm ... that looks interesting.  Maybe I'll try it out later to see how it goes.  I have Windows on a virtual machine, so if this doesn't work or screws everything up it is easy to fix (delete the VM and recreate it).


Ethan, Managing Director of Lowter
Blog | American Swedish Institute | Save the Internet

Offline

 

#13 22 Jul 2008 7:31

-=Hero Doug=-
Lowter Addict
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 626
Message

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

I tried it on the computer at work and it was really unstable. It would load a page then crash almost immediately after.

Alas, it's not to be.

Offline

 

#14 22 Jul 2008 14:32

Frenzie
Loco Lowter Member
From: Antwerp, Belgium
Registered: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 3874
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

IE7 tends to do that for me even if you basically never use it. Especially on Microsoft's own Live things. Or maybe it's just that it's the only thing that works so badly on other browsers that I sort of have to check it in IE when I do to see what's up.

Last edited by Frenzie (22 Jul 2008 14:33)


Intelligent alien life does exist, otherwise they would have contacted us.

Offline

 

#15 04 Sep 2008 8:26

Ethan
Lowter Staff
From: Minneapolis, MN
Registered: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 6960
Message  Website

Re: How do you test in multiple browsers>

Wrote an article to cover basic web browser testing: http://www.lowter.com/article/browser-testing


Ethan, Managing Director of Lowter
Blog | American Swedish Institute | Save the Internet

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson